Sonnet

So as promised, I said I would write about many poetry forms on this blog. The first one I shall talk about is Sonnets. Now the first one that comes to mind is Shakespeare, the godfather of this form in my opinion. A typical Shakespeare sonnet, consists of the rhyme structure  ‘A-B-A-B-C-D-C-D-E-F-E-F-G-G’. Shakespeare sonnets, are only 14 lines long, no longer. You will also notice that Shakespeare sonnets finish with a rhyming couplet.

Such examples, of when I have used used this rhyming structure are in my poem ‘Stare’ which will be featured in my new poetry book called  ‘My World ‘ that I am working on.

‘Stare’ By Helen Ingram (C) copyrights all held to Helen Ingram

A-You stare at people that have passed,
B-Broken down society as youth feel labelled,
A-As you divide people as they feel classed,
B-Not believing in youth’s talents as they are able,
C-To prove to you disbelieving people that your opinions should be disabled,
D-Your breakdown has led to this angry society,
C-Then only can people feel less stigmatized and unlabelled,
D-You make people feel anxiety,
E-You want people to be the same and not have variety,
F-You want to control and stabilize but unable to obtain,
E-Wanting us to meet your propriety,
F-Whilst you tie us up in your policy chains,
G-We will stare at you and our hearts will glisten,
G-As you should sit down for a change and actually listen.

So as you can see in my poem I have stuck to the rhyme structure, and only used 14 lines. So that’s how you write a Shakespeare sonnet.  This is the most common form, of Shakespeare rhyme structure, I haven’t focused on other elements, that make up the form  such as meter, and other technique elements. I tend to use the rhyme structure, only and not other technique stuff.

One thought on “Sonnet”

Leave a Reply

