Sonnet 2

Okay so the next type of sonnet I shall talk about is Spenserian sonnet which has the rhyme structure ‘A-B-A-B-B-C-B-C-C-D-C-D-E-E’. As you notice this requires most of one letter rhyming a number of times and also consists of three couplets. An example of this poem is:

‘One day I wrote her name upon the strand’ By Edmund Spenser

A-One day I wrote her name upon the strand,
B-But came the waves and washed it away:
A-Again I wrote it with a second hand,
B-But came the tide and made my pains his prey.
B-Vain man (said she), that dost in vain assay
C-A mortal thing so to immortalize;
B-For I myself shall like to this decay,
C-And eke my name be wiped out likewise.
C-Not so (quod I); let baser things devise
D-To die in dust, but you shall live by fame;
C-My verse your virtues rare shall eternise,
D-And in the heavens write your glorious name:
E-Where, when as death shall all the world subdue,
E-Our love shall live, and later life renew.

So as you can see the rhyme structure has been used.

Leave a Reply

